The Bachelorettes

ABC released a promo for the upcoming season of ‘The Bachelorette’, which you can see below.

I’m looking forward to getting back into the routine of spending way too much time watching, writing about, and analysing this show. As most people know, this season has a twist; they will start with TWO Bachelorettes. That’s right! Two women looking for their soulmate.

…Sort of. On night one, the MEN will choose who they want to further pursue on the season, between fan fav, Kaitlyn Britowe, and producer fav, Britt Nillson. I’ve been open about my distaste for this twist. It just doesn’t seem fair that the men get to choose on a show that’s supposed to be about the woman’s choice. Also, each woman has to put their life on hold, and for one of them, it will be for no reason. Kaitlyn is visibly upset in the promo, saying she shouldn’t have to do it like this, which I think is completely fair. But, really, all is fair in love and reality television.

Since the twist is taking place on the first night, it won’t even have a long-lasting pay-off. It just feels like a cheap gimmick. It’s already out there who was chosen to be the Bachelorette (I don’t know, so don’t tell me, this blog is SPOILER FREE).

Regardless, I’m still going to be watching, because I am a glutton for punishment. As anyone who has read any of my The Bachelor posts from last season would know, I am wholly on #TeamKaitlyn. You can tweet with me all season long, and what you think about the twist @hstrong_.

Leave a comment