Ottawa Adventures/Capital Gains

The cold, dark winter was getting to me. I needed a vacation. The beaches of the Caribbean were not an option for me, so my boyfriend and I decided to go somewhere even colder – Canada’s Capital, Ottawa. I hadn’t been since I was young, and Ethan had never been so it seemed like the perfect place to getaway for a few days.

We got to the hotel in the Byward Market area and settled in before going for dinner. After dinner, we made our way to  SkyZone Ottawa. If you haven’t heard of SkyZone, they are a chain of indoor trampoline parks. You basically have to sign your life away once you step in the door, but it is a ton of fun.
16

The next day, we headed straight for the Canadian Parliament for a tour. These tours are free and great. The best part is getting to go up to the top of the Peace Tower, which I didn’t even know was an option.
2

4

5

3

We then headed to the Canadian Aviation and Space Museum, which Ethan really wanted to check out. My favourite part was the space area, where a few things from Chris Hadfield‘s latest expedition were displayed.

6

Afterwards, we went for lunch and walked around for a while.

1

8

7

That night, we headed out to Kanata to catch an Ottawa Senators game. They played, and lost to, the Tampa Bay Lightning.

9

10

17

On our last morning, we walked to the Byward Marketplace and got a few treats before checking out of the hotel.

11

12

18

On our last Ottawa stop, we went to the Canadian Agriculture and Food Museum. I thought what our trip was really lacking was me petting animals, so this was the place to rectify this.

13

14

15

This little trip was exactly what I needed. I honestly feel like I could move to Ottawa if it didn’t get so damn cold in the winter. I wish we had a little more time there, as there are just so many things to do. It was great to explore Canada’s capital city!

 

 

Leave a Reply

