New Stuff For My Face

I’ve been meaning to do this post since Christmas, but I kept getting distracted…probably by new makeup. Here is what I’ve gotten in the last few months
prod

Tarte Stroke of Midnight Brush Set
Picture1
These brushes came out for the 2015 holiday season. I’ve been looking for some new brushes, and this seemed like a solid set. They had great reviews and came with a cool case (that I now store all my brushed in). I got these bad gals for Christmas and have used them almost every day since. They’re soft and lovely, and the bronzer brush is the best one I’ve used so far. I haven’t really found a use for the fluffy white brush yet. Due to my delay, these are a little hard to find now, but you might be able to find some with a thorough google search.

Real Cheeky Party Kit
prod2
Again, sorry for my delay, this one is hard to find too. You might be able to nab it at your local Ulta on sale. Fingers crossed. I hope you can because I LOVE this thing. This is another thing I got for Christmas. I asked my boyfriend to get it for me, so I had to lay out very specific instructions for him and go over it a few times. This is the most perfect possible set for travelling. It comes wit Benefit‘s classic bronzer, Hoola and blushes Rockateur, Coralista, Sugarbomb, and Dandelion. It also features one of Benefit’s newer highlighters – Watt’s Up, and their super popular mascara They’re Real, as well as the They’re Real Gel Eyeliner. All of the blushes are a home run – but Coralista is my favourite. Hoola is a perfect bronzer, I’m obsessed. The They’re Real duo is something I’ve been wanting to test out, but probably won’t become my new go-to’s. The Watt’s Up is probably a pass, the colour payoff isn’t great, and I would suggest High Beam over this one.

Sephora Party Bag
1
I suggested my boyfriend get the  Real Cheeky Party Kit, partially to save him from having to wander through Sephora with a confused look on his face and a list in his hand, but mostly for this giveaway. If you spent more than $25, you got to pick which sample bag you got. Ummm, hell yeah I love free stuff. So I also instructed him on which of the 4 sample bags I wanted. He really is a saint. In my sample bag I got Nars Audacious Mascara, Lancome Hypnose Drama Mascara, Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil, Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray, GlamGlow Thirstycleanse Daily Hydrating Cleanser, and Sephora Oil Infusion Lipgloss in Bubbly Grenadine. I have yet to cry the cleanser and invisible oil, but I’ll get around to it. Both of the mascaras are fine, I prefer the Nars one, though. Neither are worth the money for me to change my regular mascara, but these samples are great tp have in a travel bag.

I have yet to cry the cleanser and invisible oil, but I’ll get around to it. Both of the mascaras are fine, I prefer the Nars one though. Neither are worth the money for me to change my regular mascara, but these samples are great tp have in a travel bag. The lipgloss is fine, but I’m not really a gloss gal – I prefer a matte lipstick. I almost bought it in lavender, but I’m glad I paid the couple extra dollars for the Kat Von D one that will be discussed in like, 2.2 seconds.

Some Other Stuff
prod5
I’ve been super into purple lips as of late, which lead to me buying two different shades. The first one is Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in LUV, I got this with a gift card, and it is a surprisingly more wearable colour than you might think. The vampy this is in this season, and the purple is a nice change from your usual deep reds. Have a lot of chapstick on hand because it is pretty drying, but you will never have to reapply it. Your lips will have a nice mauve hue to them for like 3 days. The second is Nyx Liquid Suede Lipstick in Sway. It’s a lovely light lavender than I am head-over-heels for but haven’t had the confidence to wear out and about yet.

I used up some Birchbox points to get the Benefit Boi-ing Industrial Strength Concealer in Light (ps, use up those Birchbox CA points ASAP). I should have probably gotten a shade darker, but it’s fine for my winter face. It’s not as heavy duty as I was expecting, but I quite like this one. On a whim and in need of a new primer I picked up the very reasonably priced Hard Candy Sheer Envy Perfecting Primer. It’s a very slick primer, and I won’t purchase this again, I’ll spend the extra $8 for the Nyx Pore Filler primer.

tease
I was eyeing the Tarte Tartelette Tease mini palette for a while. I prefer to go bold with the lip and keep the eyes in the neutral-coloured area. While these colours are all pretty neutral, I would say they’re different than the ones in my usual palette – Urban Decay’s Naked 2. This little palette is beyond perfect for throwing in your bag and heading out on the road. Nyx is probably my favourite makeup brand out there. The products are very affordable and fantastic quality. My favourite thing by them is Soft Matte Lip Creams. I have four of them, and they are all amazing. The latest colour I got is Amsterdam, a deep red. It takes a little bit to get the formula even, but once you get it there it is long-lasting and great.

What are some of the new products you’re loving? Tweet me, @hstrong_

Leave a Reply

