Things I dug in 2015

For the most part 2015 was pretty solid, it had it’s ups and downs but here are a few stand outs for me.

s1552470-main-hero-300The vampy lipstick trend more or less started in 2014, but I didn’t hop on the bandwagon until a little later. I moved on to purple lipstick this winter. It’s my favourite colour, so why shouldn’t I wear it on my lips? My favourite has been Kat Von D’s everlasting lipstick in LUV.

wineI’m lucky to live in one of the best wine regions in the world, and living here and working in the industry has given me a new appreciation for wine. But, a tiger can’t change their stripes, and I go for the sweetest possible wine – enter a riesling. Rieslings in Niagara are done so well, and they can be sweet or dry. There’s a riesling for everyone.

I love food. I love eating food, I love talking about food, and I love listening to people talk about food. Enter the doughboys podcast. The guys discuss chain restaurants with their friends and it makes for a really entertaining listen that always leaves you craving a burger.

kimmyTina Fey can do wrong in my eyes, and that doesn’t change with Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. For such a dark premise, the show is bright, spirited, and funny as hell. Also, being on Netflix means you can finish it all in a day.

If you are a reader of my blog, you’ll know that I love my birchbox. It’s a pretty cost-effective way to try a bunch of new beauty products. Plus, who doesn’t love getting surprises in the mail on a monthly basis? If you want one of your own, maybe use my referral link?

jenn and amy2015 was known as the year that love died for many celebrity couples, but new love bloomed for a few more, and some couples just kept on killing it. After Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert called it quits, the People Magazine-reading world was shocked when it came out that Blake had moved on to his The Voice co-judge Gwen Stefani. This one was equal parts ‘WTF’ and ‘YAY’. Josh Groban and Kat Dennings are my favourite underrated celeb couple. They are super cute, super funny, and super into each other based on instagram. Chrissy Teigen and John Legend are the gold standard of fun, relatable(ish) couples, and they announced this year they are expecting.

trainwreckI had been anticipating the release of Trainwreck since it was announced last summer, and it did not disappoint. It was bright, funny, with just a hint of sad. Amy was perfect, as was Bill Hader, and LeBron James has found himself a career after basketball as a comedic actor.

Amy Schumer in general had a great year. Her movie topped the box office, her show, Inside Amy Schumer, somehow managed to get even funnier, she was nominated for a Golden Globe, AND became friends with Jennifer Lawrence.

My favourite genre of  books are non-fiction books written by funny people, and there were a few great contenders this year. Amy Poehler’s Yes Please technically came out last year, but I read it fres12208601_10153120714726646_7967629455710078336_nh at the beginning of 2015 after receiving it as a Christmas gift. I read Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance just after seeing him live. It was more of a sociological study rather than a memoir, but I loved it just the same. I was so excited for Mindy Kaling’s sophmore offering, Why Not Me, which was an inspiring continuation of her first book.


My friend Lauren
 
favourites all of my tweets. What more could you want from a friend.

Taylor Swift more or less took over the free world this year, with great thanks to her 1989 tour. I missed her on her last few trips around the globe, but I wasn’t passing her up performing my favourite album of hers to date. The tour was everything I could have hoped for, with celebs popping up all over the place. It was easily the best concert I’ve ever been to.

joseMy sweet beloved baseball team has a rough couple of years. Or decads, I should say. This was the year that the Toronto Blue Jays broke their bad luck streak and batted their way to the ALCS. They were taken out by the Royals, but boy was it a season to remember. After a rocky start to the season, the bats heated up and never really cooled off, and some pre-deadline trades breathed a new life into the team and the fan base. Along with all this, Jose Bautista hit a home run that this generation will never forget.

It was announced some time last years that JK Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them, one of Harry Potter’s textbooks was being turned into a movie. Many of us were confused, yet excited to see what this would be. Especially since it was revealed we would find out more about the American Wizarding World. Needless to say, everyone was thrilled when the trailer was released in November. Too bad it doesn’t come out until late next year!

Sometimes TV shows don’t know how to make a graceful exit. We can all name a show that we loved for so long, but tuned out near the end. I certainly didn’t feel that way about the Parks and Recreation finale. They announced long before the season started that it would be their drakelast, and it had an interesting premise. After finding out Leslie was pregnant with triplets, we skip a couple years ahead to see what Pawnee is like in the future. The finale wraps up all the characters’ stories with a neat little, satisfying bow, along with many tears.

It was a stellar year for Canadian pop tunes. Drake, The Weeknd, Alessia Cara, and Justin Bieber were taking over the airwaves north and south of the border. Sorry, we’re not sorry you’ve had the Biebs’ ‘Sorry‘ stuck in your head for months.

3847f580-51a5-0132-0b47-0eae5eefacd9.0.0I’m always super behind on downloading the latest iOs. Partially because I’m lazy, partially because I have very slow internet. So even though I don’t have it yet, the taco emoji makes like list because JESUS IT WAS TIME. It was mind-boggling that I didn’t have the option to text an emoji of my favourite food to friends and acquaintances alike.

I’ve always bee a fan of pot stickers, but 2015 was the year that I really got on board with them. They’re such a great meal/snack. They’re tasty, filled with treats, cook fast, and are a great vessel for wonderful sauces.

I’m not one for hot beverages. They burn my mouth and I’m not about that life. However, I discovered a love for chai tea lattes. Once you let it cool a bit and add a sugar to it, it’s a great beverage.

I’ve never watched Game of Thrones. Or the Walking Dead. Or Fargo, Or the Leftovers. Or Mr Robot. And I quit Orange is the New Black without even making it through season 1. I have a tendancy to avoid watching hyped up shows. I guess that’s hipstery, but I don’t mean it to be. Usually it’s just these shows are hour-long dramas and for some reason I don’t have the attention span for it. Don’t worry, I know what’s going on in these shows. I read the buzzfeed articles.

French onion soup has been the real culinary super star for me this year. Before 2015, I don’t katie nolanknow if I had even eaten it before, but then I quickly became obsessed. It’s a bowl of salty delciousness covered in CHEESE.

Katie Nolan has become the queen of sports talk shows. She is quick as a whip and funny as hell.  She’s not afraid to speak her mind, and can back up her facts. Her show and her podcasts are must-listens. She is my idol and I am mildy obsessed with her it a not creepy way. I hope she doesn’t mind.

Pizza Rat

pizza rat

 

 

Leave a Reply

