A Fond Farewell to Parks and Recreation

Parks and RecreationUnless you live under a rock, or hate comedy and joy, I’m sure you’ve heard that Parks and Recreation ended their 7 season run this week. As Tuesday is a jam-packed TV night for me, it’s taken me a couple days to get to watching the finale. I wanted to savour it just a little bit longer.

The finale was such a perfect ending to one of my favourite television series. It gave us just enough of what was happening to our beloved characters in the future without going overboard. It tied up everything neatly. In one of the last scenes, we see Leslie decide to go for her dream and run for governor of Indiana with all of her friends by her side.

Amy Poehler as Leslie Knope on Parks and Recreation Parks and Recreation has always been an incredibly important series to me. It premiered when I was nearing my high school graduation, and stayed with me through my university years, and into my early 20s. Leslie Knope taught me how important it was to be a smart, strong woman, to fight for what I believe in, and never give up on my dreams. For that, I thank the creators of this amazing characters, the writers who brought her to life every week, and to Amy Poehler, the woman who portrayed her, and inspires me on and off the screen.

It’s never easy to say goodbye to the ones you love, and I know I’m being over-sentimental about not real people, but I can’t help it, so you’re just going to have to deal. So, I bid you adieu, Parks and Rec. I willllll alwaysss looooove youuuuuuuuu.

Leave a Reply

