Birchbox – February 2015

Birchbox finally came to Canada, and as a beauty box lover, I just had to try it at least once. This month’s theme was hanging with friends or something.

DSC01524

DSC01525

The card says ‘You’re My Favourite’. Thanks Birchbox, I don’t know if I can say the same to you yet. The box also comes with a $30 off an order of $75 from Rent the Runway, which I probably won’t use.

DSC01526

DSC01528

 

Whish – Three Whishes Body Butter in Pomegranate

I feel like lotion samples always end up stockpiled in my drawer because I don’t use it a lot, but this body butter smells fantastic if you are into using a lot of lotion

derma e – Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Scrub

Ouuu I love me a good face scrub, so I’m looking forward to trying this one out.

DSC01529

Number 4 – Clarifying Shampoo

Okay cool, another shampoo sample, something else I have a ton of in my drawer. I can use it for when I go on one of the trips I’m planning in my head that I’m too poor to afford to go on.

DSC01530

TOCCA – Eau de Parfum in Florence

I don’t use a lot of perfume. I always forget to use it, and with so many scent sensitivities these days, I just tend to avoid it. This smells really nice, but there’s 0 chance I’ll ever use this entire sample.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty – Creamy Lip Stain in Heartthrob

First thing’s first (I’m the realest) this is the smallest lip gloss sample I’ve ever seen. You couldn’t have spared a little more? Anyway, I liked this colour on way more than I was expecting to when I first opened the box. It did take a lot to build up a nice colour (unlike my beloved NYX Matte Lip Creams), but it was a smooth formula with just a touch of shine.

DSC01532

Overall I was just whelmed with my first Birchbox. My favourite thing about the box was actually the box it came in, it will probably be the thing I get the most use of, which should tell you something. I won’t continue the subscription, but I might treat myself to a box every once in a while. At $10 per box, plus $5 in shipping, it’s just not worth it to me. It’s a great alternative to Beauty Box 5 and Ipsy if you have been tiring of those subscription services.

 

4 thoughts on “Birchbox – February 2015

Leave a Reply

