Yes Please – Amy Poehler

image8My favourite book genre is without a doubt ‘Memoirs/Autobiographies/Collections of Essays written by very funny women.’ Tina Fey’s ‘Bossypants‘ and Mindy Kaling’s ‘Is Everyone Hanging Out With Me‘ easily rank among my favourite books of allll timeeeeee. Luckily for me, 2014 was like, the golden age of these books. I reviewed two of them already here on this very blog (1,2). I received a couple of these types of books for Christmas this year, and the first one I tore into was my queen, Amy Poehler’s book ‘Yes, Please‘.

When I heard Amy was finally writing a book, I was ecstatic. As one of my ultimate idols, I followed her career through SNL and Parks and Recreation, and I was looking forward to hearing about her experiences on these shows first-hand, as well as her prior journey.

Amy goes into her upbringing in suburban Massachusetts, and her first taste of the limelight, a production of ‘the Wizard of Oz’. She then weaves through her time in the improv communities of Boston, Chicago, and New York, and how her time in those cities made an impact on her career and who is she as a person. She divulges her views on what it’s like to be a high-profile woman in comedy, and how to balance being a mother with her career that she loves so much.

The book was engaging and dynamic, and I finished the whole thing in about two sittings. Don’t judge me, it was over Christmas break. This one is a must-read if you liked any of the aforementioned books listed above. With chapter titles like this, how could you resist?

One thought on “Yes Please – Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

