Niagara Ice Wine Festival Gala

This week, I had the opportunity to volunteer for the Xerox Niagara Ice Wine Festival Gala. I am currently a PR student, and for one of our classes this upcoming semester, we had to choose an event to volunteer for. I was glad to be able to help out with one of Niagara’s most prestigious and fun events.

After fulfilling my volunteering duties, I was able to check out the Gala’s offerings. The theme of the event was ‘A Touch of Red and Gold’ to celebrate the gala’s 20th anniversary. The room and the culinary options had an Asian flare.

image4

There was a lot of really awesome food around the room. My highlights were the pork belly banh mi, the kung pow lobster ball, and the cheesecake lollipops.

image2

seared tuna on black rice with edamame puree

seared tuna on black rice with edamame puree

smoked salmon lollipop with cream cheese

smoked salmon lollipop with cream cheese

image6 (1)

image2 (1)

deep-fried bananas - amazing

deep-fried bananas – amazing

I’m no wine aficionado, so I was lucky to have my new friend Cooper with me suggesting wines to try. My favourite was Colaneri Estate‘s Ice Wine. I had never tried ice wine before the event, but oh my god I fell in LOVE. It’s so sweet, almost like syrup, AKA my kind of wine. I’m going to have to pick myself up a bottle.

Cooper and I!

Cooper and I!

image7

my favourite wine and I

my favourite wine and I

I also ran into my friend Kylie from university who was there pouring for Chateau Des Charmes.

image6

The Niagara Ice Wine Festival has different events running all month long, so check them out!!

Leave a Reply

