What’s in my Bag – Carry-on Edition

I’m heading to Boston for the first time tomorrow (yay!). I haven’t started packing yet, because I am a packing procrastinator. Now, I am going to pack everything into 2 carry-ons because ain’t nobody got time to wait around in baggage claim. Over the years I’ve become a really efficient packer, and I am now able to fit a week’s worth of stuff in a gym bag. For those tips, check out this article I wrote last year. If you tend to over pack, check out this one. Now, if I had a piece of checked luggage, my typical carry-on would be sliiightly different. I would throw a tooth brush and a couple pair of underwear in there just to be safe. In this instance, I don’t have to worry about my bag being lost in transit, so here is what the contents of my carry-on look like.

IMG_0007

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

IMG_0008

Let’s start with the bag. I got this little number on maaajor discount thanks to a sale on Kate Spade a couple of weeks ago. I bought it with the intention for it to act as my school bag this year, and it also happens to make the perfect carry-on bag!

IMG_0009

I’m sure you’ve all heard this one, but I’ll reiterate it. KEEP YOUR ELECTRONICS IN YOUR CARRY ON. That includes you cords. You don’t know if your luggage will make it to your destination, and you don’t know how that bag will be handled on its way. So avoid any unnecessary heartache and keep these things with you. Plus, how will you entertain yourself on long flights? Talk to your seat mate? As if.

IMG_0006

I always like to bring a book with me. I try to impress strangers with what I’m reading so maybe the hot guy across the aisle will talk to me. Just kidding, I never sit near hot guys. ANYWAY, I’m going to start this book on my trip and I’m looking forward to it. I bought it for $3!! Can you believe that! Okay, sorry, this post isn’t about that. I always like to have pens in my bag as well because you never know when you’re going to have to fill out a form, or start a passive-aggressive note-based internet hoax.

IMG_0002

My passport and wallet are preeetty vital to my travels. Mostly because I need the passport to get into countries, and I need the wallet and its contents so I don’t have to pan-handle in foreign countries just to eat. Let’s get real, I have very few skills that people would pay for.

IMG_0010

 

I always bring a water bottle with me. I get supes parched while travelling. Make sure its empty or else security WILL dump it our for you. Don’t waste your money on expensive airport water bottles. Pretty much every airport ever has a fountain kicking around. Bring your sunglasses too in case you are heading to LA and you want to try and get photographed for TMZ. It’s also helpful to have these accessible so you don’t have to rummage around in your suitcase for them when you arrive at your destination.

IMG_0004

I always throw a few products in my carry-on to freshen up after a long flight. I got this bag for one of my ipsy bags last year, and it’s been super useful. Make sure none of your products exceed the liquid limit which is 100mL or 3oz.

What are your carry-on must-haves? Let me know in the comments or on twitter!

Leave a Reply

