I Like You Just The Way I Am

image (22)I wouldn’t be the way I am without my parents being a little on the odd side, my father chain-eats popsicles, for God’s sake. I am very thankful that my parents aren’t downright lunatics like Jenny Mollen’s. I truly mean that in the nicest possible way, because without them, we would not have easily one of the funniest books of 2014 in our hands.

Jenny Mollen is probably best known as the wife of actor, Jason Biggs, but she also has some acting credits of her own. Namely, in ‘Girls’, ‘Crazy, Stupid, Love’, and I could probably give you other examples, but you know how to use IMDB.

I’m a sucker for a good memoir written by a funny woman with an equal number, if not more, issues than I have, and this book did not disappoint.

Jenny starts the book with a story about her mother, which eventually sets up why she decided to become an actress (because she craved the attention her parents never gave her) and her path to some occasional roles in things you might have seen.

Her stories are outlandish, yet endearing. You really feel for a girl whose father thinks it’s NBD to plan his third wedding a month after his youngest child’s wedding. There were things I related to, like I always assume everyone is a murderer, even though that is statistically unlikely. Other things I don’t relate to as much, like stalking your current boyfriend’s ex-girlfriend (I’d like to think that is because I legitimately wouldn’t do that, and not because I’ve never had a boyfriend whose ex-girlfriend I could stalk), but it didn’t make me want to put the book away.

In fact, I couldn’t put the book down. I finished this one in less than two days. I really enjoyed this book, and I was left wanting more. I’m really hoping there will be sequel, I’m sure Jenny has a lot more self-aware craziness to share with us.

One thought on “I Like You Just The Way I Am

Leave a Reply

