Philadelphia – A Phantastic Ending

For the final leg of our trip, we headed to Philadelphia, making an unexpected trip through Delaware, a new state for all of us!

IMG_0555

 

We got to our hotel which was out near the airport, which my parents were glad about. They were excited to not have to maneuver the streets of downtown Philadelphia. We were all super hungry, so we found this cute little boutique restaurant called ‘Denny’s’. Have you ever heard of it? Probably not. It’s a local thing.

All jokes aside, we must have all been starving, because that was a legit meal. We did a little more relaxing, and in my case, hanging out in the lobby trying to get a good internet connection. I haven’t mentioned this before, but the theme of our trip was definitely a lot of rain and really terrible wifi. Like, no joke you guys, in every hotel the internet was barely usable. We’re at a point where free, good quality wifi should be standard in all hotels.  Okay Haley, your tourism degree is showing. Tangent over.

We hit up a nearby mall because we were not feeling very adventurous, and it’s mighty difficult to resist a Target. Also in the mall was a PINK by Victoria’s Secret. I hadn’t decided on my outfit for the Phillies’ game the next evening, and kind of wanted a shirsey or something to blend in with the crowd.

Enter – Me in PINK.

I saw that they had the Phillies’ apparel on sale, 40% off. I am not ashamed to admit that was easily in the top 25 happiest moments of my life thus far. Anyway, I picked up a super cute jersey that I couldn’t stop raving about all night.

IMG_4536

shameless selfie in said jersey

shameless selfie in said jersey

The next day, we still wanted to take things slow. We hit up a different Target to pick up a few last minute groceries before grabbing a bite to eat. I killed the rest of the afternoon reading ‘I Like You Just The Way I Am’ by Jenny Mollen by the pool. I forgot my bathing suit and couldn’t be bothered to buy a new one, so I ended up with a few drastic tan lines.

We then made our way to Citizens’ Bank Park for the baseball game. I thought it was really cool that the baseball park, football stadium, and basketball/hockey arena were all grouped together. My parents thought it was cool how easy it was to get there and that there was ample, reasonably priced parking.

IMG_0563

IMG_0581

 

IMG_0574

IMG_0585

IMG_0569

IMG_0579

We did a little wandering around the park and some souvenir shopping. It was in the team shop that I heard rumours that the Phanatic would be outside the store in a matter of minutes. I raced downstairs telling my parents to wait around for a few minutes because I needed to live out a dream.

A couple months ago I read ‘Yes, It’s Hot in Here‘ by AJ Mass. Since then, I’ve made it a goal to meet my boy, the Phanatic. If you didn’t believe in fate before, you will now because it was fate that the Phanatic would be near where I was soon. That, or something that is planned every game, and I just wasn’t privy to. Either way. I was a happy gal.

this was moments after he kissed me on the mouth

this was moments after he kissed me on the mouth

We found our seats, and the game started. I really loved these seats. They’re not everyone’s cup of tea, but outfield seats are my favourite because you have a good view of almost everything.

IMG_0652

IMG_0608

IMG_0606

IMG_0639

IMG_0613

IMG_0655

IMG_0659

IMG_0557

IMG_0654

I love werth, okay?

IMG_0641

IMG_0661

yes, the Phanatic IS shooting hotdogs

A few innings down, I was a little hungry. I decided to bite the bullet and get a philly cheese steak, because I couldn’t bear to leave the city without trying its signature dish. OMG IT WAS SOOOO GOOD. I couldn’t finish all of it, omg.

IMG_0647

We decided to head out around the end of the 8th inning to avoid the traffic. While heading to our car, we heard the crowd roar as the Phillies tied up the game, but they ended up losing in extra innings.

It was a great trip, but I was glad to get home. It’s one of my dreams to be able to see all of the MLB parks, and I’m lucky that my parents wanted to make part of this journey with me. 12 down, 18 to go!

IMG_4542

Leave a Reply

