Baltimore – The Waterfront

This was not my first time in Baltimore. 7 or so years ago, my Brother’s university baseball team had a few games scheduled at another school in the city. Since it coincided with my March break, we decided to make it a family expedition. This proved to be a mistake, as a huge snowstorm hit the northeast. A drive that should have taken us 8 hours, took us 12. Needless to say, no baseball was seen that weekend. Barely any of Baltimore was seen that weekend. We did, however, manage to travel into the city on a mildish day for dinner.

I remember the waterfront vividly from this trip, so I was eager to revisit it in much nicer weather.

IMG_0527

I didn’t have a whole lot of time to explore. My parents found a nice, shaded bench to hang out on while I meandered around taking photos. If you had a whole afternoon, it would be great to mill in and out of the museums, shops, and restaurants. I, however, was a slave to the clock in the parking garage.

IMG_0523

IMG_0535

IMG_0524

The waterfront area reminded me a lot of Halifax, which y’all know I love, and it made me a little nostalgic for my adopted hometown. On a beautiful Friday afternoon, it was no surprise that there were a ton of tourists around, but it wasn’t overcrowded by any means.

IMG_0534

IMG_0544

IMG_0540

There were a number of features that made the Baltimore waterfront unique; the dragon peddleboats, water taxis, and a Hooters restaurant on top of a Bubba Gump restaurant.

IMG_0538

IMG_0539

IMG_0543

IMG_0550

I found a souvenir shop to pick up a few postcards for my collection, and headed back to find my parents. This area deserves more than 45 minutes of your time, but that was all I could spare. I enjoyed my short time nonetheless.

IMG_4526

Leave a Reply

