Alexandria – Perusing Old Town

Our hotel for the DC leg of our trip was located across the river in Alexandria, Virginia. Before heading out to Baltimore, I wanted to take some time and look around the Old Town section of Alexandria. Driving through the town, I was taken aback by how gorgeous this city is. I loved all the of buildings, and I was excited to explore a little bit.

IMG_0370

My dad stayed in the van and read the latest issue of USA Today, while my mother and I weaved in and out of a few shops on one of the main streets.

IMG_0368

IMG_0367

The stores along here were right up my alley. I love boutique shops that feature unique offerings, even if they are a little out of my price range. It’s still fun to look.

IMG_0362

IMG_0364

IMG_0365

During our drive, I noticed the Alexandria town hall, and I wanted to stop by and take a few pictures.

IMG_0374

IMG_0378

IMG_0379

I stopped by the visitor’s centre to pick up a few postcards, and went into the store next door and picked up a chocolate bar. NOT JUST ANY CHOCOLATE BAR. It was dark chocolate with BBQ chips flakes. This may not be for everyone, but I looooved it.

IMG_0381

My favourite store along the street was called ‘3 Sisters’. It’s a clothing store with a ton of gorgeous, bright dresses. I wish I had a little longer to look around, but the meter was running, and Dad was probably getting impatient.

IMG_0389

IMG_0385

IMG_0386

IMG_0387

IMG_0388

If you’re in DC and you’re looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, I’d definitely recommend taking the metro or a taxi out to Old Town Alexandria. There are many great restaurants and shops around the town, you could easily spend a day or two here.

IMG_0384

Leave a Reply

