Cincinnati – Blue Jays Never Say Die

This past weekend I took a little jaunt with a few family members to the City of Cincinnati. It took me a long time to get a handle on double-n’s and one t, instead of one n and double t’s, but I’ve got it now. Mostly. We headed to Cincinnati to see our beloved Blue Jays take on the hometown Reds. One of the major items on my travel wish list is to visit all 30 MLB ballparks, so I jumped at the opportunity to head to Cincy and add another one to my list, especially with the added benefit of seeing my sweet baby Jays.

After a looong 8 hour drive (broken up by my inaugural at Five Guys), a chance to check my twitter mentions, and the dodging of a pretty heavy downpour, we headed to Great American Ballpark.

IMG_9914

IMG_9651

We got club seats for Friday night’s game, so we had our choice of food at the club buffet. There was a ton of different stuff available, so I filled up before going to wander the ballpark a little bit.

I really wanted to purchase this baby Joey Votto plush, but I couldn't justify spending $25

I really wanted to purchase this baby Joey Votto plush, but I couldn’t justify spending $25

IMG_9615

the new man in my life

the new man in my life

The game started it, and I’ll be honest it was not a great start. The Jays were down 8-0 in the 2nd inning, but in the greatest moment of clairvoyance in my life, I said it was no issue, that the Blue Jays would take this game. I wandered around the park a little more during the game to snap a few photos, and ended up talking to people who commented on my red jersey. I told them how the Jays wore their red jerseys every Canada day, and they accepted my excuse to blend into the crowd of Reds fans.

IMG_9703

IMG_9749

IMG_9664

I didn’t take a photo, but I grabbed an Angry Orchard hard cider based on a recommendation from @keepitbrutal. I looooved it, so try it if you’re ever in the area. I think you can get in other places besides Cincinnati, so seek it out.

Just like I called earlier, the Blue Jays ended up making an epic comeback, winning the game 14-9, one of the biggest comebacks in franchise history.

IMG_9755

After every Friday home game, the Reds put on a fireworks show, and it was seriously one of the best fireworks shows I’ve ever seen.

IMG_9760

IMG_9759

IMG_4288

I, along with the throngs of other Jays fans, left the ballpark elated over the win.

I wish I could say the feeling stayed after Saturday’s game, but that wasn’t quite the case, but I’ll save that for another post.

 

 

Leave a Reply

