The Halifax Chronicles – Boardwalk Empire

I am so sad that this is the end of my Halifax blog posts. I had such a great time in the city that I consider my second home, and I’m going to miss the city and my friends so so so much, but I am thankful I had such a great excuse to return to the east coast.

My friend Katie and I planned to meet up Sunday morning for a beverage. I was able to peel myself out of bed after a long night and make myself reasonably presentable to meet with Katie. We grabbed a drink and headed down to the Halifax Boardwalk.

those lamp posts are drunk in love

those lamp posts are drunk in love

IMG_9230

IMG_9232

It’s often overrun by tourists, but it’s one of my favourite places in the city, and I wanted to make sure to get down there before I left for home. There are a lot of cool shops and places to eat along the way. Since it was a little windy and chilly, we didn’t run into too many tourists.

IMG_9234

IMG_9238

IMG_9241

IMG_9244

IMG_9245

IMG_9247

IMG_9255

IMG_9250

IMG_9259

IMG_9260

IMG_9257

We stopped into a few shops. I always look for new postcards, but I didn’t see any that caught my eye. We were a little hungry, so we stopped at one of the food stalls along the boardwalk, the Battered Fish. I was torn between a lobster roll and a haddock poutine. Since the lobster roll was a little expensive for me at that time, I chose the poutine.

IMG_9261

IMG_9262

IMG_9265

IMG_9267

IMG_9268

IMG_9270

this lunch cost me AT LEAST 6 months of my life

It was seriously soooo good. I felt like dying soon after eating it, but it was totally worth it. I’ll probably avoid poutines for the next 8 months, but it’s probably better that way.

Katie and I parted ways, promising to see each other sometime soon, and I headed back to Emily’s. I packed up my things and said goodbye to my friends, and headed to the airport with Lauren. Lauren and I realized that we would be on the same flight at least part of the way, which was super exciting.

IMG_9243

I was so so so sad to leave, but I had a great trip. I’m not sure when the next time I return will be, but I know the city will never be far from my heart. </end sappy paragraph>

IMG_3941

Leave a Reply

