The Halifax Chronicles – Burgers & Rehearsals

Friday, Emily and I awoke with, thankfully, very little residual aches and pains from the evening before. Good thing, because we had some errands to run. It was a gorgeous day, and it was easy to enjoy the beauty of Halifax that I’ve missed so much.

IMG_9028

IMG_9090

IMG_9030

IMG_9029

IMG_9091

IMG_9098

IMG_9099

I met up for lunch with a different friend Emily. She wanted to introduce me to a little place in the North End called Ace Burger. They have a very simple, but great menu. Everything is local and sustainable. Emily got the deluxe burger and I got the jerk chicken. My burger had nuggets of fried chicken with lettuce, chipotle mayo, and pineapple. Oh my god, you guys, it was AMAZING. I wish I had more time in Halifax so I could head back a few more times. Emily mentioned that she often frequented Ace Burger, with good reason.

IMG_3800

IMG_3799

After lunch, we decided we needed something sweet. We went to DeeDee’s , near the Halifax Commons. Emily knew that she wanted to try the pear and red wine ice cream pretty instantly. It took me a little longer to decide. I was torn between the Mexican chocolate ice cream and the mango sorbet. I ended up going with the sorbet.

IMG_3801

IMG_3802

IMG_3803

IMG_3806

After dessert, we stopped back at Emily’s so I could meet her fur babies. I said goodbye to Emily so she could get back to work, and so I could run a few more errands before heading to Mike and Kristin’s rehearsal dinner.

IMG_9094

IMG_9096

We went through the musical cues for the wedding, as well as the order of service. We then went to the St. Mary’s Boat Club for the rehearsal dinner. It was a beautiful spot right on the lake.

IMG_9103

IMG_9104

IMG_9109

IMG_9115

IMG_9117

IMG_9124

IMG_9132

We went back to Emily’s (the first one!) place for a quiet evening in before the big day. Our friend Kellie came by so we could visit with her. We made it an early night because we were still a little (okay, a lot) tired from the previous evening, and we knew we would have an early (and exciting) morning the next day.

Leave a Reply

