The Halifax Chronicles – Hellos & Goodbyes

Last week I headed back to my old stomping grounds. I attended Mount Saint Vincent Univeristy in Halifax, Nova Scotia. It was a great experience. I loved the area, and I loved the people even more. I was fortunate to be asked to be in the wedding party of two of my best friends that I met while at the Mount. I was ecstatic to be a part of their big day, and I was so happy to have a reason to return to Halifax after a year away.

IMG_3731

I departed from Hamilton, ON and arrived in Halifax late Wednesday afternoon. My friend Mike (the groom!) picked me up from the airport looking like the most dapper chauffer a girl has ever seen. We then headed downtown to meet up with friends for dinner. We went to one of my favourite spots in the city, Mexicali Rosa’s. I looooove Mexican food, and Mexicali’s has some of the best Mexican food in Halifax. We got a round of their signature margaritas while poring over the menu. I landed on the Shrimp, Honey, and Avocado Quesadilla, and shared an order of calamari with my friend Kristin.

 

 

IMG_3733

 

IMG_3737

 

Both dishes were superb. I really loved the calamari. It was dusted with their seasoning blend and served with a ranch dressing. I would totally recommend it.

We then headed to Mike and Kristin’s apartment just in time for the season finale of Survivor. I spent last finale night in Los Angeles with some of my favourite live-tweeters, so this time around it was a little different, but the lovely Lisa live lego-memed the live-tweeters. Mike is also a Survivor super fan, so I loved being able to watch the finale with him.

The finale last time around

The finale last time around

BoNM1AfIQAAc2sf

It was a really fantastic finale. The last few seasons have had a pretty predictable ending for a couple of weeks leading up to the finale, so it was refreshing to not know what was going to happen for most of the episode. I was sad to see Spencer go out in 4th place, but I can take solace in knowing he will be back at some point. I was absolutely flabbergasted at Woo’s decision to take Tony to the final 2, and not surprised at all when Tony nearly swept the final vote.

I am very satisfied with Tony as a winner. I didn’t think I would like him pre-season, but he changed my mind. He was extremely entertaining, and was clearly playing to win, while still remaining fairly likeable. His creativity within the game was commendable. It was a lot of fun to watch him play the game. Kudos to you, Tony.

I then headed to my friend Emily’s, where I would be staying for the next few days. We caught up after not seeing each other for over a year, and headed to bed knowing we had a busy day ahead of us.

Leave a Reply

