Sample Source – Spring 2014

I’m pretty into subscription boxes. I haven’t been getting any for the last few months because they can be a little much for my budget, especially when you add the cost of shipping to Canada and the exchange rate. I live vicariously through friends who still get them, and their Instagram photos of the products they received. I search out blogs that describe the items people got in their monthly box, so I can at least lessen the extent of my fear of missing out.

A couple of months ago, a friend told me about Sample Source. You sign up, fill out a few surveys, and then wait for some sample products based on your survey. The best part of all of this is that it is completely free. No paying for the samples, no paying for shipping. I was beyond excited about this. Three times a year (Spring, Summer, and Fall) they send out an email for you to fill out another survey in order to see what samples you qualify for that season. Then they give you a list of the products you qualify for, and you select which samples you want.

Once they send out the email, it’s best to get to it quick because the samples run out pretty quickly. One of the products I qualified for was a mini-bottle of Tabasco Chipotle hot sauce, but the stock had already run out. I was pretty rattled about this because the chipotle hot sauce is my favourite one. I qualified for 13 products and selected 9. Some of the products had already run out, and a few I just wasn’t interested in. It then takes about 4-6 weeks for them to ship out your box. Since it took a few weeks to arrive, I had totally forgotten about most of what I had selected, so it was a surprise all over again!

IMG_3506

Anyway, these are the products I received in my Spring 2014 Sample Source box.

John Freida Smooth Start Shampoo, Conditioner, and Serum

IMG_3507

I’m lucky enough to not usually have to deal with overly frizzy hair, and I’m worried that smoothing products will leave my hair on the greasy side. I am looking forward to using this product right before the next time I blow-dry my hair, which will hopefully leave my hair looking a little healthier.

Jergens Natural Glow Moisturizer

IMG_3513

After a long, cold winter I am looking mighty pale, and I am in a wedding coming up in a few weeks and I would like to not look as pale. I hope this product can help me with that issue. The product says that you will notice a difference in just 3 days, and therefore gave you 3 pouches. You can definitely get at least 2 days out of each pouch. I should start using this soon, so I don’t get ambushed by a streaky-looking fake tan just a few days before the wedding. A $1 off coupon came with it as well.

Quaker Harvest Nature Warm& Crunchy Granola

IMG_3510

One thing that gave me great excitement about the Sample Source box is that there would be snacks included. Y’all know how much I love snacks. This granola is Apple Cinnamon-flavoured, and it smells seriously so good. The directions say to add milk to it, but I think I’m just going to eat it from the package. I have been looking for a good snack granola for a while now, so I was stoked to see this.

Twistos Baked Snack Bites

IMG_3511

If you are a fan of Big Brother Canada, as I am, you have probably heard of this product, because they name drop it at least 5 times an episode. They are sort of like crackers, but like bread crackers. I would equate them to bagel bites. I think I tried them a couple years ago, but I’m not sure if it was just a similar product. The flavour I got is Asiago. I’m looking forward to trying these out while watching all the episodes of Big Brother I have to catch up on.

Frizz Ease Thermal Protection Serum

IMG_3512

Again, I’m worried about this product making my hair greasy. I will have to use it next time I blow-dry and straighten my hair. Which could be a while, I’m lazy.

Jergens BB Body Perfecting Skin Cream

IMG_3514

First of all, I am excited about how big this sample is because it will last forever. This product is maximizing on the BB cream make-up trend. It is supposed to have the benefits of hydrating, brightening, evening skin tone, firming skin, and minimizing the appearance of imperfections in just 5 days. This sample also came with a $1 dollar off coupon. I’m interested to see if this product really does everything it says it does.

Sunlight Dishwasher Oxi Action

IMG_3515

This is one of those products that I wasn’t super into, but was like ‘eh, might as well’. I will probably give this one to my Mom to test out, since she deals with the dishwasher most of the time.

Snuggle Scent Boosters

IMG_3516

Another product I will be passing along to my Mother. Don’t worry, I do my own laundry. I’m just not into super scented clothes.

Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Night Cream

IMG_3517

Okay, is this product for your face, or body, or do you just get to choose? Either way, I wasn’t passing on a Burt’s Bees product. My skin doesn’t get super dry ever, so I don’t really have too much of a need for intense hydration, but I guess everybody could use a little more lotion in their life, right?

John Freida Sheer Blonde Lightening Shampoo

IMG_3518

This is definitely the product I was most excited about. I regularly use the John Freida Lightening Spray as my means to stay blonde. This shampoo promises gradual lightening in 3 uses. Again with this product, these packets are large enough to be used twice. Yay for six days of getting blonder!!!

Hershey’s Whole Almonds Chocolate Bar

IMG_3519

Easter just wrapped up last week, so I still have an abundance of chocolate kicking around, but I never say no to more. I love love love chocolate bars with almonds, so I am happy about this sample, but I wish it was dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate.

Quaker Harvest Crunch Quinoa Bar

IMG_3520

I’m not super into the quinoa trend. I get all the benefits of it, but something about the texture bothers me. I think in this type of format I will be able to deal with quinoa, and it might inspire me to use quinoa in different ways while cooking.

Elle Canada

IMG_3521

 

Last week I received this issue of Elle Canada that was a part of the package. I don’t read this magazine on the regular, but I really love mags, and was more than happy to get a free issue.

 

Well that’s all that was in this month’s box! I got a lot of great stuff that I’m excited to try out! If you want to sign up with Sample Source yourself, here is the link. But please, don’t take all my samples. Ya dig?

Leave a Reply

