The Bisons are back

 

Spring is here and so is baseball. I’ve missed it a heck of a lot. I’ve missed the atmosphere, the popcorn, and the warm weather. I’m still waiting on that least one, but at least I had some popcorn. The Buffalo Bisons, the Toronto Blue Jays AAA affiliate, came back into my life yesterday at 2PM est when I attended their home opener.

IMG_3171

it was a little too chilly for my favourite jersey, but the thought was there

 

It was chilly, but we were dedicated, as were hundreds-to-thousands others (I’m bad at estimating). For a weekday, afternoon game taking place in 7 degree weather, the turn out was pretty good!

buffalo

The Bisons were set to take on the Rochester Red Wings, the Minnesota Twins’ affiliate team. Prospect Marcus Stroman was starting for the hometeam against Canadian Scott Diamond. The early innings were rough for both teams, making a few errors each and missing some key pitches (we can just blame the cold). Regardless, the Bisons pulled out an early lead that they kept for the remainder of the game.

those not starting didn't leave the dugout without their toques.

those not starting didn’t leave the dugout without their toques.

Stroman started off his season with a solid 4 innings of work

Stroman started off his season with a solid 4 innings of work

I was excited to see a Canadian in the game!

I was excited to see a Canadian in the game!

IMG_8797

Anthony Gose also started his season off right

fan fav KAWASAKI

fan fav KAWASAKI

Kevin Pillar goes up to bat

Kevin Pillar goes up to bat

 

The Bisons won their home opener 6-3. It was great to be back to watching live baseball, even if I was shivering the entire time. A video of last year’s season highlights reminded me how much I was looking forward to the summer. I’m excited to catch a bunch more games this summer, and I hope that both my Bisons and Blue Jays make it to the play-offs this year. A girl can dream, right?

I love the buildings in DT buffalo

I love the buildings in DT buffalo

Leave a Reply

