Ice Cave Spelunking

There’s a cool natural phenomenon currently on the shores of Lake Erie. The wind, water, and bone-chilling cold have worked together to form ice caves on Crystal Beach in Fort Erie, just minutes from Buffalo. I had heard from people how awesome it was and that I needed to check it out.

Everyone I talked to said how many people were there, and today being Family day here in Ontario, I figured it would be even busier. Since it is supposed to warm up later this week, I didn’t want to risk the caves melting by the time I went to go see them. I drove the 30 minutes down the road, and spent some time trying to find a parking spot. There was hordes of people on the street and on the beach.

It was great though! It was super cool to see all these hills of solid ice, where in just a few short months people will be soaking up the sun. The lake was so frozen, that you can walk pretty far onto the ice. Here are a few snapshots from the caves

IMG_8676

SO MANY PEOPLE

SO MANY PEOPLE

IMG_8695

image (14)

IMG_8700

IMG_8710

IMG_8694

IMG_8719

IMG_8723

IMG_8726

IMG_8736

image (15)

IMG_8712

IMG_8705

IMG_8733

I had a great afternoon at the ice caves. It wasn’t too cold, and there was almost no wind to speak of. I’m glad I checked them out before they melted, but I am sooooo ready for summer.

raisin' the roof

raisin’ the roof

 

Leave a Reply

