The Black Nail Polish Chronicles

I’m not going to lie, I’ve always been afraid of black nail polish. I was always jealous of girls like Lauren Conrad who could pull it off flawlessly. I never thought I could be one of those girls. I felt like it had to be applied meticulously (not my greatest skill), and it showed every messy cuticle and flaw. Well folks, I decided to take the leap and dive hand-first into the world of black nail polish.

I was perusing the Julep Black Friday sales while looking for Christmas gifts where I came across a lovely black nail polish for 2.99. I could not pass that up, so I put it in my shopping cart. Since I elected for the free shipping it took a couple of weeks for it to arrive. When I opened the box I was so excited to see my beautiful new polish. When I took it out of its box, something wasn’t right.

IMG_2211

IT WAS A CRACKLE FINISHING POLISH. UggGggHhh, I blame myself on this one. I was too blinded by excitement to realize that the finish was ‘special effect’ and it was not the polish that I had been looking forward to for the last few weeks. I’ll be honest; I was never a fan of the crackle polish trend. This was before Christmas, and finally today I decided to just go for it and try it out.

IMG_2212

I started with a silver polish on my ring fingers (I love the power claws). I almost always use a different color on those fingers, because I like the contrast of colors. I felt like the silver wouldn’t make my hands look too dark and gothic. I then put on one coat of the black polish. It dried matte and pretty light. I know that this isn’t regular polish so it wasn’t going to dry like it, but I’m lazy and I don’t like nail polishes that require two coats.

After 1 coat

After 1 coat

I threw on another coat and it looked a bit better. I wasn’t totally enthused with the results though. I could see a few spots on my nails where the crackle effect was showing up. I was hoping a top coat would make me feel a little bit better about my new manicure, and it did. The top coat brought the shine I was looking for, so I decided to keep the nail polish on for a few days at least.

SEE THAT CRACKLE?

SEE THAT CRACKLE?

Although this experience might have sent other black polish newbies running for the hills, I’m willing to give it another chance. If you have a suggestion for a black polish that you love (a polish that only needed one coat, and preferably under $10), let me know in the comments or on twitter.

I guess the final product didn't turn out TOO horribly

I guess the final product didn’t turn out TOO horribly

UPDATE

About 24 hours later, this is the state my nails are in

image (4)

I guess I learned my lesson to read the website more thoroughly when buying nail polish online.

4 thoughts on “The Black Nail Polish Chronicles

  1. Catherine Dream says:

    Haha, love this post!

    I’m completely the opposite – black nail polish was my first colour (and the only one for about 10 years) and I still love it, although I’m more into nail art now and have way too many colours.
    Just FYI, my style is not gothic, punk, or dark anything, I just LOVE BLACK NAILS. It was so much fun to read your perspective!

    And I HATE pink or red nails (on me).

    Did you find a non-crackle black polish since writing this post?

    Glad to have stumbled upon your blog : )

Leave a Reply

