LA Weekend

Okay guys, I’m sorry this has taken so long. I meant to do this ages ago, but I got a case of blogcrastination. That, a chest cold, and the holiday season delayed this post by a few weeks. Woops.

A couple weeks ago I went to LA to visit some friends for Survivor finale weekend. It was so wonderful to be able to get away from the cold and snow for a few days.

BYE BUFFALO

BYE BUFFALO

I made it to LA without any delays (thank gawd). I was then introduced to my LEGO mini me made by the wonderful Lisa Ferreira.

IMG_1811

Me and LEGO me

The next day, we ventured through the hills of Hollywood to reach the elusive Hollywood sign.

IMG_8273

SUP HOLLYWOOD

It took a few hours and a few breaks, but we finally made it to the top. The view was TOTALLY worth all the sore muscles I had the next day.

IMG_8280

We made it!

IMG_8293

Group shot

That night, we got together with a few of our other friends and had a bit of a party. For some reason NONE OF US TOOK PICTURES. I am so mad at myself about that. We all looked so adorable.

The next day we headed down to the LA Farmer’s Market. We bought some scones and then spent quite a bit of time people watching. Let me tell you, there are few better places to people watch than farmer’s markets in LA.

IMG_8311

Market

IMG_8320

A few gorgeous flowers at the market

After the market, we went and got some breakfast. This is where I had my very first cronut. It was pretty darn good, but it was kind of a mess to eat. The cronut was layery and flaky and so good. It had a layer of vanilla boston cream in the bottom so it wasn’t as dry.

IMG_1856

THE cronut

We then got ready for the finale viewing party.

IMG_1876

We are SO ready

It was so much fun live-tweeting #Survivor in the same room with some of my favourite live-tweeters. You may not be able to tell in this photo, but we were all clogging up the wifi with our tweets, which caused us a few issues with our show feed. Woops! After the very satisfying finale, we went our separate ways to get ready for the after party.

IMG_1867

Queens of the duck face

 We headed down to the Parlour in downtown LA where the after party was being held. It was a great night filled with manhattans, cups of water, reality stars, and a number of photo bombs.

IMG_1904

The girls

IMG_1902

Me and Survivor/podcasting superstar, Rob Cesternino

IMG_1907

The girls, again

IMG_1941

Selfies with former Survivor winners!

The next day, it was time for me to head home.

IMG_1911

But I don’t want to leave the warmth!

IMG_1919

Hello LAX, good bye LA

I had such a great weekend in LA. I’m so lucky to have awesome friends throughout the continent, and I’m so glad I finally got to meet a few of them. If you would have told me 6 months ago that I would fly to LA to hang out with a bunch of people I met on the internet, I would have thought you were crazy. I’m so happy I took the chance to go meet and hang out with such cool people. I flew back to Buffalo and was greeted with a couple inches of snow left on my car. I then treated myself to a Big Mac at 2 am. My excuse was that my body was still on PST.

Thanks for the great time, LA. Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

