The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

image (3)

I got to go see Catching Fire today, finally! I say finally as if it’s been out for weeks, when in reality it’s only been out a few days. I guess it just FEELS like so long because everyone I know seems to have gone to pre-screenings of the movie. I’ve loved the books for a few years now, and when the first movie came out, I was definitely in the front of the line for the midnight showing.

I really, really enjoyed the movie. I’m never too hard on book-to-movie transitions, but I thought Catching Fire is one of the best I’ve seen. It’s been a while since I’ve read the books, (surprisingly, I’ve only read the series once), so there were a few parts I didn’t remember until I saw the movie.

Two of the new characters, Johanna and Finnick, played by Jena Malone and Sam Claflin respectively, were really fantastic choices for the roles. Claflin was not how I pictured Finnick at all, but he was great. Malone’s Johanna was easily one of the best characters in the movie.

Even though I knew what was going to happen, I was on the edge of my seat the entire movie. Can we take a quick sec to talk about how terrifying those monkeys were?!?! I haven’t heard from anyone who hasn’t read the book what their opinion on it was, but I feel like it was easy enough to follow.

I loved the movie, and I can’t wait another 2 or so years until Mockingjay comes out!

Leave a Reply

